Communication Breakdown?

November 16, 2009 — Leave a comment

I’m a technology nut, I’ll admit it. I’ve got the Mac, the iPhone, the iPod and so much more to prove it. And I’m aware that I’m one of those people who loves the latest gadgets and the latest ways to communicate. I’ve got Facebook and Twitter, I text, I email, I phone. There’s a whole load of ways that, in the last few years, have made it so much easier for us to communicate.

If I want to get hold of someone, all I have to do is drop them a text/Facebook message/tweet and they’ll get it (if they’re anything like me) pretty instantaneously.

But I was thinking – does all of this technology and all of this communication advancement actually mean that we are worse at communicating than ever?

Whilst we can get hold of someone in an instant, it doesn’t actually mean that we are communicating with them. As I look at how we work in this 21st century world, it seems that our communications are worse than ever. Our conversations and times with each other are spent awkwardly checking our phones and our emails, in an attempt to communicate in a way we are comfortable with. Technology is great, and there are loads of amazing things that can be done with it.

But I’m not sure that God values our technological advances over community. In the Bible, community is one of the strongest things that comes through both the Old and the New Testaments. Jesus loves community, and the disciples form an amazing tight knit community. Read Acts 2:42-47 to see the most amazing example of community.

And they didn’t have Twitter, Facebook, emails, phones or anything like that. They had good old fashioned community.

And I think that that, above all, is the most important thing. God loves community, and He loves communities that love Him.

Let’s build those communities. Let’s get back to real communication with people, not just in 140 characters. Let’s find God in the communities we are in.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

