Worry

November 27, 2009 — Leave a comment

I’m a worrier. It’s who I am. I worry about things, and most of the time that I worry, I’m worry about things that aren’t worth worrying about. Did my last comment offend someone, even though they’re smiling? Is that essay ok? Why am I scared of frogs? Where will I be in a month, a year, ten years?

Worst of all, I worry about the fact that I worry. That is something incredibly stupid, but I do. I worry that my worries offend God, that he looks at my muddled existence and is let down by the fact that I worry about tiny, insignificant things. And because worry is a vicious circle, it only makes things worse when I worry, because my initial worry turns into a worry about my worry, which turns into a worry that God is disappointed with me, which is a big worry.

Why do I worry? I don’t know. I’m a thinking person, so that’s probably something to do with it. But beyond that, I really don’t know why I worry. I just do. And I know other people worry do. In fact, everyone worries about things. And I had a thought the other day, when I was probably worrying about something.

I had a revelation: how much more time would I have if I stopped worrying. It would be an incredible change in my mind; hours of worrying could be turned into hours of prayer, hours without stress or fear. And this is what God wants from us. He doesn’t want us to fight our worries on our own, He doesn’t want us to stumble along, trying to sort out own mess out. He wants us to turn to Him, lay our worries down at His feet, and let Him take control. After all, if anyone can sort out the worries we have, it’s God.

Matthew 6:25-34 is an amazing passage on worry. Jesus tells us not to worry, for our Heavenly Father is always looking out for us. It’s so hard to try to accept this for real, to try to let go of our worries, trusting that God will sort them out. But only God can. That’s the irony of worry. We can’t solve most of the things that we worry about, only God can.

So we need to lay all our worries and fears at the foot of the cross. Give them to God. Tell Him to lead you, tell Him that you can’t do this alone. And may our worries turn to prayers, may our fears turn to worship, may our stress turn to dancing in the sight of our glorious Father and King.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

