Make Way

June 14, 2010 — Leave a comment

I have to confess, I’ve never been a great fan of the old Graham Kendrick classic ‘Make Way Make Way for Christ the King’. I know it’s a classic, and I know it gets rolled out every Palm Sunday and people get really excited about singing it.

But really, I’m not a fan.

Whilst I was running today, I was listening to Leeland’s amazing album ‘Love is On the Move’ (if you haven’t heard Leeland’s stuff, check them out). At about the point in my run where I think I’m going to have a heart attack, this chorus came on:

“The Lord is coming for His bride, make way for the Lord; He’s clothing all His children in white, make way for the Lord.”

For some reason, the words ‘make way for the Lord’ really jumped out at me. Maybe it’s because I was so desperate for something to take my mind off the pain my body was in that I saw it as a useful distraction. But I don’t think so.

It made me think of just what it means for us to make way for God. When we sing ‘make way’ on Palm Sunday, we are remembering those who waved Jesus into Jerusalem on the back of a donkey, and recollecting that memory a week before Easter.

In our lives today, however, we are in desperate need to make way for Jesus. So often we fill up our lives with junk – material obsessions, time, money, worry, fear, guilt, relationships and so much more. Whilst we often desperately want Jesus in our life and long for Him to be living actively within us, without knowing it we block His path with all our stuff. Rather than making way for Jesus, we block his way.

I suppose it all comes down to control – we find it incredibly hard to hand everything over to God, and let Him rule our life. But that’s truly what making way for Christ involves. The people didn’t welcome Jesus into Jerusalem by blocking His path, and not letting Him in through their road-block. Instead, they lined the streets and welcomed Him in, worshipping Him. They truly made way for Jesus.

So whilst I don’t think I’ll ever really like the classic song, I do think that I’m going to think differently about what it means to let Jesus in, to make way for Him.

Rather than block His way, I want to be like those who put their lives aside to welcome Christ in – to truly make way for Jesus.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

