A Lenten return

March 10, 2011 — Leave a comment

It’s been almost two months since I last blogged here. Whilst the break wasn’t a conscious effort on my part, perhaps it happened naturally for a reason. I don’t really know. But I do know I’ve missed it. I’ve missed having the space to write my thoughts, missed having the space to say things that are in my mind. I find it useful to be able to do those things. Therapeutic almost.

We’ve just started Lent (yesterday was Ash Wednesday). During this season, Christians are encouraged to either give something up or take something on, to remind them of the sacrifices of Jesus and to mark the run-up to Easter. In the Spirit of that, I’ve decided to try to write a blog every day for Lent.

This may well fail. I can see it being a good idea now, only to become less of a good idea a week in. I’m prepared for that. I’m also not trying to claim that this is some super-spiritual movement I’m making. Whilst I hope it will be a useful exercise, I can’t guarantee it.

But I feel it will be a good thing to do. Some days might be short, some might be long. We’ll see. I think, however, that when I get to the end of Lent, something valuable will have come out of the process. I pray it will.

Here we go.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

