Asking for tap water at McDonalds (40 Days day four)

February 16, 2013 — 1 Comment

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today marks day four of my 40 Days of Water challenge. Surprisingly, it hasn’t been as bad as I thought. There have been moments when I’ve craved other drinks (orange juice and coffee especially), but on the whole I’ve been OK. Expect for when I tried to ask for a tap water in McDonalds. That resulted in a lot of confusion.

***

I am starting to realise it’s not going be that easy to keep this up for another 36 days. It is very tempting to just have a small sip of juice, or a quick cup of coffee. And in a way, it’s worse at home. When I’m out, I have to buy drinks, and so it’s easier to stop myself. At home the drinks feel like they are free (although they aren’t), and so there’s a stronger temptation.

But what I am realising is how much I take water for granted. I’ve started to realise just how many things in my day involve water – not just the obvious, like drinks, but also food I eat and the things I use which require water.

***

I think – and hope – one thing this challenge will make me realise is that water is something we have permanent access to, whereas for so many it’s a precious and rare thing to have clean water.

That is something which is not fair, and something which we should all seek to change.

One response to Asking for tap water at McDonalds (40 Days day four)

  1. 

    Good Luck on your quest. There is also water in art, music and lots more to give you a new awareness of this precious resource

Leave a Reply

