Dawn

March 16, 2011 — 3 Comments

Dawn isn’t a time a lot people see very often. It’s also not a time that people tend to look forward to. Because of my job, I’ve had to be up before dawn a lot lately. If I’m honest, it’s pretty early. When I get up it’s dark, it’s bleak and it’s cold. There’s not a lot going on outside – the birds aren’t up yet, and the majority of people are still asleep.

Then this amazing event happens. Slowly, a touch of light appears in the sky. It’s the smallest of glimmers, but it’s a sign of what is on the way. Without any warning, the sky is suddenly filled with reds, oranges and pinks. It’s amazing, and never fails to attract my attention.

I like to think of if of God’s way of drawing back the curtains on a new day, revealing a clean slate for us. It’s a timely, beautiful reminder.

3 responses to Dawn

  1. 

    Who would I talk to about getting permission to use the “red_dawn” picture above to customize it with a scripture and our church name to distribute freely next month as a desktop background to our church members. Our scripture memory verse is Lamentations 3:22-23 and the picture would be a excellent fit.

    Thanks,
    Anthony Nieuwsma
    Pastor of Youth & Family Ministry
    The Friends Church
    Grinnell, IA

  2. 

    Beautiful. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  3. 

    Very beautiful words. -Bel 🙂

Leave a comment